Down the TBR Hole #9 – Books 66-75

We are back with me cleaning up my TBR! I’m going to try and speed this up, but since I only want to do this once a month, it’s gonna be hard, unless I increase the number of posts I create in total!

This meme was originally created over at Lia @ Lost in a Story! It is incredibly fun while being productive and making me feel better about my TBR shelf since there are so many books, and not enough time to read them in! Honestly, life is too short to have books that you’re likely not going to read. Let’s do it.

Do note that all the pictures of the book covers have Goodreads links directing you straight to the book!

Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 7.13.54 PM.png

Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me23766634171345893294085734448985

1. Unfiltered by Lily Collins

I think I was interested in this because of how much Sasha @ A Book Utopia loved Lily Collins, you know, back in the day, even though I knew nothing about Lily Collins. I still do not know much about Lily Collins, and I haven’t been interested in this for a while.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 7.59.00 PM

2. A Court of Wings And Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3) by Sarah J. Maas

I did somewhat (?) enjoy A Court of Thorns and Roses and a Court of Mist and Fury, but I’ve heard really mixed things about this conclusion. I truly do not understand the hype around Sarah J. Maas. Additionally, I steadfastly no longer support Sarah J. Maas due to the problematic elements I have heard about in her books and certain incidents regarding marginalized communities. Thank you, next.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 7.59.00 PM

3. The Conspiracy Of Us by Maggie Hall

I tried the first few chapters of this, and I’m not really compelled to continue? I mean, the concept of this series sounds interesting, but from what I read, it seems very stereotypical and trope-heavy in this set-up? Let me know if I should add this back to my TBR.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 7.59.00 PM

4. Worlds Collide (The Land of Stories, #6) by Chris Colfer

I .. .really don’t know? I mean, I did enjoy this when I was younger and my sister has a copy of it, but I’m not sure whether I should read it? I mean, I guess it was really fun as a series, so I’ll keep it for now?

Also that cover is GORGEOUS and I’m highkey keeping it for that reason ngl.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 8.00.01 PM

5. Blood Of A Thousand Stars (Empress of a Thousand Stars, #2) by Rhoda Belleza

Okay, the first one was good, but I just don’t care anymore? Plus, the sequel has been getting mixed reviews, and I’m not interested anymore.

It really do be like that sometimes.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 7.59.00 PM

Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 7.13.54 PM.png

3601022330145666355835272941457629102896

 

6. Smoke in the Sun (Flame In The Mist, #2) by Renee Ahdieh

I’m not super interested in this, but this is on my YARC 2019 priority TBR. I’m going to audiobook this if I get to it though, but if I don’t read it by the end of the year, it’s being taken off the TBR.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 8.00.01 PM

7. The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo #2) by Rick Riordan

I did really love the Percy Jackson series and the Heroes of Olympus series (hello childhood favorites) and I did enjoy the

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 7.59.00 PM

8. There’s Something About Sweetie by Sandhya Menon

You all thought I was going to remove this? It’s on my most anticipated of the year, and I’m definitely gonna read it (and hopefully, love it!) We gotta support all the Asian authors, am I right?

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 8.00.01 PM

9. Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

This sounds like a really fun contemporary, but I did try it a couple of times a few years back, and I never got through it? I’ll be taking it off my TBR for now, but who knows, I might be interested in the future.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 7.59.00 PM

10. Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

This sounds absolutely fantastic, and a powerful story about an abusive relationship. It has positive reviews from trusted sources, and that cover is GORGEOUS. I also do have a higher tendency to keep contemporaries on my TBR, which comes as a surprise to absolutely no one.

Screen Shot 2018-11-16 at 8.00.01 PM

Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 7.13.54 PM.png

REMOVAL PERCENTAGE:

60%

This is shockingly low for me, but I guess we’re getting up to the point where there are more books that I genuinely want to read?

Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 7.13.54 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-11-11 at 8.23.55 PM

Which books should I have kept or removed from my TBR? Do you think I was too harsh with these books? What books have you added (or removed) to your TBR recently? I’d love to know.

Screen Shot 2018-09-09 at 10.59.32 AM

10 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #9 – Books 66-75

  1. Ahh I love this! I am SO excited for There’s Something About Sweetie oh my gosh. I have Smoke in the Sun on my TBR too, but it’s been soooo long since I’ve read the first one and I’m not as motivated to read it lmao. Bad Romance was so heartbreaking!! 😭 It was such a tough read but so worth it. 💔

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh thank you ❤❤ There’s Something About Sweetie is gonna be super cute, and I can’t wait to read it in the summer for sure. I don’t even know whether I want to read Smoke in the Sun anymore, because it’s been SO LONG since I read the first one too, and like … I’m losing all my motivation, yikes. I’m super interested to read Bad Romance now! I picked it up a couple of years ago, but since it was so heavy, I had to put it down? I’m still super intrigued though 👀 Have a day as amazing as youu 💖

      Like

  2. I love reading posts like these and seeing what books people don’t want to read anymore lol. I promise you’re not missing out on anything by removing A Court of Wings and Ruin. A few years ago I loved the series, but when the finale came out it was such a let down. Not only did she do some shady stuff with the Throne of Glass series, but she did the same thing with a character’s sexuality in ACOWAR.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I personally think these kinds of posts can be really interesting! I’m SO RELIEVED that you think that I should remove ACOWAR, like … I don’t care anymore? When I think about reading it, I just lose my will to live ngl. After all the drama with Maas, I’m not interested in reading any of her works, and I was never super into them anyway.

      Like

  3. Omg I should really start doing this. My goodreads tbr is out of control. Like, I don’t even know what half the books on there are??? But this was honestly such a fun post to read. I don’t know why, but it’s always so satisfying to see people clean out their tbrs. Maybe cuz I never clean out mine, whoops 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m happy you’re keeping Bad Romance on your TBR, this book sounds… well, so good but also quite intense to read, probably the reason why I haven’t read it just yet haha. That being said, I can’t wait to do so 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Taasia, something has changed around here: I think it was your background? It looks good and definitely makes the text pop out a lot more.
    I’m kinda sad you took Tash Hearts Tolstoy off your TBR. I am excited to read this one, because it features an asexual protagonist, and I hope to enjoy it and get into it faster. If I enjoy it, I’ll make sure to share my thoughts and hopefully make you more excited to add it back to your TBR!
    And, honestly, 60% of removal is pretty impressive! I should probably try doing something like that too!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I did change my background! It’s a fairly subtle change but I LOVE it, and I feel like it relates to my blog name a lot more? And thanks for your compliments of it, you’re too kind ❤
      Ahhh I’m sorry that I made you sad! It’s one of those books that I’m on the fence about removing, so more pressure might make me put it back on my tbr. We never know 🤷‍♀️
      I try to be as brutal as I can because we can only read so many books. I’d defo be interested in what you came up with if you did something like this.
      Happiest of reading, Lais! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment